Rough River ~ The Leaving
Flightless 168 Store

Rough River ~ The Leaving

Regular price $30.00 $0.00

The Leaving is Kate Skinner's second album under the moniker of Rough River.

The album was recorded over a few months during 2016 with recording, production and mixing by Pascal Babare (Pascal Babare and Teeth, Mallee Songs, Aleks and the Ramps) and Casey Hartnett (Sleep Decade, Love Migrate, Sagamore, Mallee Songs, Miris) at Electric Dreams Studio in South Melbourne. Both Pascal and Casey adding more textural and atmospheric instrumentation with Lap steel guitar, piano, theravox and banjo.

Kate arranged all her own songs as well as playing Guitar, haunting Warren Ellis-esque violin warblings and mandolin. Kate also re-worked two folk traditionals for the album - bringing her live band in for her atmospheric and re-work of the century old gospel hymn 'Will The Circle Be Unbroken'  - bringing it into the modern day with an incredible layered arrangement.